You May Also Like

Berkeley Ensemble
Making their recording debut with Resonus Classics, the Berkeley Ensemble present septets and octets inspired by Beethoven's Septet and Schubert's Octet. 

Taking its name from two British composers of the last one hundred years, father and son Sir Lennox and Michael Berkeley, the group was formed in 2008 by members of London's young professional orchestra, the Southbank Sinfonia in order to perform little-known as well as more established chamber music.

Included in the album is a newly-commissioned work for Septet by Michael Berkeley composed specially for the ensemble, the energetic and characterful Clarion Call and Gallop. Also in the programme is John Casken's Blue Medusa for Octet, the stunning but rarely-heard Octet by Howard Ferguson and the world premiere recording of Charles Wood's 1889 Septet.

© 2014 Resonus Limited
 2014 Resonus Limited
Producer, engineer & editor: Adam Binks

'This deft young ensemble is named after two composers, father Lennox and his son Michael [...] Howard Ferguson's Octet (1933) and Charles Wood's Septet (1889), both rewarding work from another era, merit the proper attention they are given on this imaginitive disc'
The Observer

'[...] the ensemble gels cohesively, and the well-balanced recording shows the players in their best light'
The Strad

'On this, its debut release, the Berkeley Ensemble (whose members are drawn from the Southbank Sinfonia) gives warmly communicative and commendably polished readings, most truthfully recorded and balanced within an ideally intimate acoustic'
Classical Ear (

'This enterprising programme succeeds through the strength of its contrasts'

'[...] it’s very agreeable music, agreeably and skilfully performed by a group which has adopted the name of Lennox and Michael Berkeley and it’s all very well recorded. This is the sort of recording that I find ideal for hearing on a quiet Sunday morning or in the late evening.'
MusicWeb International

'This is a very enterprising disc with some works which certainly deserve a wider audience.'
Robert Hugill

Clarion Call: Music for Septet and Octet

Clarion Call: Music for Septet and Octet

Free Downloads

Choose Download Format

About Download Formats

Purchase All Tracks (Download)

  Length Price

Purchase Individual Tracks (Listen & Download)

Track Length Listen Price
1 6:42
  • Sample
  • 2 5:34
  • Sample
  • 3 3:52
  • Sample
  • 4 5:14
  • Sample
  • 5 6:01
  • Sample
  • 6 10:09
  • Sample
  • 7 12.10
  • Sample
  • 8 8.20
  • Sample
  • 9 6:05
  • Sample
  • 10 12:08
  • Sample