You May Also Like

James Akers (romantic guitar) & Gary Branch (fortepiano)
Period guitarist James Akers returns to the Resonus Classics label with this programme of Classical works for guitar and piano. Joined by duo partner, fortepianist Gary Branch, this memorable recording presents music written with domestic settings in mind by some of the leading composers of the time, most of whom were resident in Vienna at some point in their lifetimes - Mauro Giuliani, Ferdinando Carulli, Ignaz Moscheles & Anton Diabelli.

Recorded on period instruments, including a rare original 1826 fortepiano by Conrad Graf, this elegant album marks one of the last to be made in Kent’s Finchcocks Musical Museum.

© 2016 Resonus Limited
Ⓟ 2016 Resonus Limited
Catalogue No. RES10182

Producer, engineer & editor: Adam Binks
Cover image: Piano detail (Conrad Graf, 1826) 
© Resonus Limited

'Just lean back and take in the warm sound of these persuasive artists, imagining you are at a Viennese house concert in the early 19th century. It’s a treat.'
Early Music America

'This is an interesting release from a historic angle – recreating the sound world of a bygone age combining the sounds of an 1826 fortepiano with guitar. This is one of the last recordings to be made at Finchcocks, now sadly no more. The programme is varied, including compositions by Mauro Giulani and Ferdinando carulli amongst others. The duo work well together and in fine solo performances.'
Lark Reviews

'A fascinating [recording], and little known repertoire.'
Andrew Benson-Wilson (

Classical Vienna: Music for Guitar and Piano

Classical Vienna: Music for Guitar and Piano

Free Downloads

Choose Download Format

About Download Formats

Purchase All Tracks (CD or Download)

  Length Price Qty
67:47 $16.99

Purchase Individual Tracks (Listen & Download)

Track Length Listen Price
1 4:33
  • Sample
  • 2 5:42
  • Sample
  • 3 4:48
  • Sample
  • 4 3:15
  • Sample
  • 5 6:12
  • Sample
  • 6 3:45
  • Sample
  • 7 6:06
  • Sample
  • 8 4:59
  • Sample
  • 9 1:57
  • Sample
  • 10 7:44
  • Sample
  • 11 9:14
  • Sample
  • 12 9:24
  • Sample