You May Also Like

Fantasticus - Rie Kimura (violin), Robert Smith (viola da gamba & cello) & Guillermo Brachetta (harpsichord)
The talented Baroque trio, Fantasticus, here make their debut recording with an album including works by Dieterich Buxtehude, Antonio Bertali, John Jenkins, Giovanni Antonio Pandolfi Mealli, Augustinus Kertzinger, Georg Muffat, Alessandro Stradella and Johann Heinrich Schmelzer.

Based in Amsterdam, Fantasticus features Rie Kimura (Baroque violin), Robert Smith (viola da gamba and Baroque cello) and Guillermo Brachetta (harpsichord) and is inspired by the gloriously virtuosic music from the end of the 17th century, from which the name Stylus Fantasticus was coined. The aim of the ensemble is to recreate repertoire from the early seicento until the late Baroque searching and exploring the extravagance that flourished when composers and instrumentalists dared to traverse the established limits of the usual. Fantasticus prides itself on the fact that it makes no compromises with regard to authentic performance, fearlessly trespassing on the borders of correctness.

The Strad Recommends      

© 2012 Resonus Limited
 2012 Resonus Limited
Producer, engineer & editor: Adam Binks
Cover Image: Spring (1573) by Giuseppe Arcimboldo

'Fantasticus makes an impressive recording debut with this programme [...] Its vigorous, dramatic and highly extrovert readings make for compelling listening, demonstrating not only versatility and flexibility but also intimacy and incisiveness.
The Strad ('The Strad Recommends')

'Ensemble is laser sharp and the music-making oozes insight and vitality [...] sheer freshness and joie de vivre'
BBC Music Magazine (5 stars, performance & sound)

'Altogether it is a beautiful bouquet of exciting music' ('Bij elkaar is het een mooi boeket van enerverende muziek geworden')
Luister Magazine

'This is music-making of maturity, its evident free spirit and exuberance of line allied to control and expressed in impeccable ensemble-playing. [...] A striking and enjoyable debut'

'[...] more impressive than its sheer fantasy is the careful consideration in its delivery [...] a most impressive debut from a group well worth following.'
International Record Review

'The performances are superlative – consistently energetic, vibrant, communicative and full of stimulating detail. Each of the three musicians is excellent in technique [...] This is, quite simply, a release not to be missed'
Classical Ear

'This is an absolutely outstanding recording [...] Throughout the recital, the playing is top notch - the individual musicians are superb and they blend so naturally in consort'
Early Music Review

'Lovers of baroque instrumental music are well served and others may well start here [...] The performances are assured, matching the style of the music and the recording is excellent'
MusicWeb Internationa

'A pleasant collection of works'
Lark Reviews

'This group, which trained in Amsterdam, concentrates on the extravagant style of chamber music playing in the late 17th Century. Improvisation around given notation is axiomatic and provides many moments to relish. The recording (engineered by Adam Binks at Bunnik, Holland in April 2012) is of the highest standard.'
Musical Pointers

Fantasticus: Baroque Chamber Works

Fantasticus: Baroque Chamber Works

Free Downloads

Choose Download Format

About Download Formats

Purchase All Tracks (Download)

  Length Price

Purchase Individual Tracks (Listen & Download)

Track Length Listen Price
1 7:51
  • Sample
  • 2 7:42
  • Sample
  • 3 6:47
  • Sample
  • 4 6:00
  • Sample
  • 5 4:50
  • Sample
  • 6 6:45
  • Sample
  • 7 7:45
  • Sample
  • 8 8:07
  • Sample
  • 9 2:18
  • Sample
  • 10 1:23
  • Sample
  • 11 0:49
  • Sample
  • 12 1:23
  • Sample
  • 13 4:50
  • Sample