You May Also Like

Fidelio Trio
Darragh Morgan (violin)
Adi Tal (cello)
Mary Dullea (piano)

Following on from their acclaimed Resonus debut the Fidelio Trio continues its exploration of the French piano trio with this impressive new recording of works by Gabriel Fauré, Ernest Chausson, and Erik Satie.

Chausson’s opulent and lyrical Op. 3 piano trio from 1881, is joined by Fauré’s only work in this chamber music genre – the heartfelt Piano Trio in D minor, Op. 120 – composed during the latter part of his life. The album is completed with arrangements by John White of works by Erik Satie – selections from his only liturgical work, the Messe des Pauvres, and the incidental music to his own play, Le Piège de Méduse.




© 2018 Resonus Limited
Ⓟ 2018 Resonus Limited
Catalogue No. RES10232

Producer, engineer & editor: Adam Binks
EAN: 5060262791394
Release date: 2 February 2019
Cover Image: Staircase, Hôtel de Brinvilliers, Rue Charles V by Eugène Atget (1857–1927)

‘Delicacy and flow are the watchwords across the album, as you hear again in the Fauré Trio, whose first movement’s expertly moulded super-long lines are a study in sustained tension [...] one to savour’

'The Fidelio Trio playing piano trios by Faure, Chausson, Satie (Resonus) with consummate musicianship. Chausson’s G minor work comes to brooding, intense life in their hands, as does Fauré’s only venture into this genre, his heartfelt trio in D minor’ 
The Observer

‘The performances are absolutely wonderful [...] stylish virtuosity [...] instinctive brilliance [...] they get it just right’ 
BBC Radio 3 Record Review

‘The performances from the critically acclaimed Fidelio Trio, are fulsome, lucidly detailed and deeply affectionate to each composer, with immaculate string playing and a suitably assertive piano from Mary Dullea.’
Yorkshire Post 

'Chausson’s aching, ardent G minor Trio is realised with exquisite feeling, Darragh Morgan’s keening violin in the third movement delectably dark and a thing of brittle beauty. There’s wholly simpatico support from Mary Dullea’s liquid piano and Adi Tal’s burnished cello throughout, intoxicatingly so in the buoyant finale. Fauré’s late, lyrical, lilting D minor Trio receives committed playing marked by an emotional and musical intelligence'
Classical Ear

Fauré, Chausson & Satie: Piano Trios

Fauré, Chausson & Satie: Piano Trios

Free Downloads

Choose Download Format

About Download Formats

Purchase All Tracks (CD or Download)

  Length Price Qty
57:01 $16.99

Track List & Samples

Track Length Listen
1 10:03
  • Sample
  • 2 4:00
  • Sample
  • 3 7:15
  • Sample
  • 4 8:42
  • Sample
  • 5 6:08
  • Sample
  • 6 8:45
  • Sample
  • 7 4:46
  • Sample
  • 8 3:29
  • Sample
  • 9 0:44
  • Sample
  • 10 0:46
  • Sample
  • 11 0:38
  • Sample
  • 12 0:26
  • Sample
  • 13 0:16
  • Sample
  • 14 0:27
  • Sample
  • 15 0:25
  • Sample
  • Hide

    Newsletter Signup

    View our privacy policy for more info