Mie Hayashi

Mie Hayashi

‘The harpsichord playing of Mie Hayashi displayed a profound understanding of the music’
Music Today


Mie Hayashi was born in Kyoto, Japan. In London she studied at the Royal Academy of Music with Laurence Cummings and John Toll, and then at the Royal College of Music with Robert Woolley. She was awarded the Lincoln Scholarship (RAM) and Century Fund (RCM). During her studies she also won the Croft Sherry Ensemble Prize with the chamber ensemble Abendmusik, as well as the Ruth Dyson Keyboard Prize and Amadeus Fortepiano Prize.

With the ensemble La Sfera Musicale, she won top prize at the Japan Early Music Competition (Yamanashi) 2005 and honourable mention at the Bruges International Early Music Competition 2006. She has performed throughout the UK and overseas, including concerts for the Countess of Munster Recital scheme, and recitals for the Cheltenham International Music Festival, the Barcelona Early Music Festival, the National Trust recital series at Fenton House and the Lake District Summer Festival. With La Sfera Musicale she has performed recitals across Europe and in Japan.

As an orchestral musician, Mie has received invitations to perform with the Royal Northern Sinfonia and the London Handel Orchestra. In Japan, she was for several years principal harpsichordist with the Kyoto Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra with whom she appeared frequently as a concerto soloist. As a duo recitalist and orchestral musician, Mie has shared the concert platform with many renowned musicians, including the harpsichordists Laurence Cummings and Masaaki Suzuki, the cellist Anner Bylsma and the flautists Rachel Brown and Masahiro Arita, giving performances and radio broadcasts both in the UK, in continental Europe and the Far East.

In 2016 she released her solo disc Ascents of the Soul (Omnibus Classics), a programme of Laments, Tombeaux and Suites by Froberger, Louis Couperin, D’Anglebert and Fischer. She is a founding member of The Herschel Trio, with whom she released A Concert near Darmstadt (Omnibus Classics), a disc of works by Telemann, in 2017.



Joseph-Nicolas-Pancrace Royer: Premiere Livre de Pièces de Clavecin
Mie Hayashi (harpsichord) The gifted Japanese-born harpsichordist, Mie Hayashi makes her Res..

Newsletter Signup

View our privacy policy for more info