Latest NewsView All

  1. Black Friday Event 2021 Black Friday Event 2021
    To celebrate our 10th anniversary we have an ex...
    26 Nov 2021
  2. Urgent Notice For all EU Customers Urgent Notice For all EU Customers
    Unfortunately we are no longer able to ship phy...
    05 Jul 2021
  3. COVID-19 update - Resonus is open for business! COVID-19 update - Resonus is open for business!
    During the current global situation, Resonus Cl...
    31 Mar 2020
  4. Inventa Records launched! Inventa Records launched!
    Today, Resonus Classics has launched a new sub-...
    25 Mar 2019
  5. BBC Music Magazine Award Nomination! BBC Music Magazine Award Nomination!
    Resonus Classics is pleased to announce a nomin...
    19 Jan 2018

Newsletter Signup

The Queen's Six record Resonus debut

01 Feb 2015

The Queen's Six record Resonus debut

Resonus Classics is proud to announce the debut recording by the a capella vocal group The Queen’s Six. The first of an ongoing recording partnership with Resonus this increasingly popular group's first album contains a sumptuous selection of music from the golden age of English polyphony.

The album, Music of the Realm, was recorded in the extraordinary surroundings of St George’s Chapel, Windsor Castle – where each member of The Queen’s Six is a Lay Clerk - and features six composers associated with the royal court of Queen Elizabeth I, from whom the group gets its name.

For their first commercial recording the group have selected a programme of both well and lesser-known works by these six composers who wrote music for and during the reign of Queen Elizabeth I – William Byrd, Thomas Tallis, Thomas Tomkins, Thomas Weelkes, Thomas Morley and Orlando Gibbons, including such works as O sacrum convivium (Thomas Tallis), When David heard (Thomas Weelkes) and O Lord, make thy servant Elizabeth our Queen (William Byrd) among many others. The recording is accompanied by an essay from early music scholar and conductor, Peter Phillips.

Significantly, this title will also be the first physical release on the Resonus Classics label, released in audio CD format as well as digital formats from MP3 up to studio master quality files.

The Queen's Six are Daniel Brittain & Timothy Carleston (countertenors), Nicholas Madden & Dominic Bland (tenors) and Andrew Thompson & Simon Whiteley (basses). Discover more about The Queen's Six at


Newsletter Signup

View our privacy policy for more info