Franco Alfano: Songs - Anna Pirozzi (soprano), Bozidar Vukotic (cello), Emma Abbate (piano) - Resonus Classics - RES10330

Alfano: Songs

Regular price £12.99
Total playing time [56:22]

Anna Pirozzi (soprano)
Bozidar Vukotic (cello)
Emma Abbate (piano)

Franco Alfano was a major musician and teacher who enjoyed considerable success with his operas during his lifetime, but who has been overlooked for decades. Generally regarded as the regenerator of the Italian art song, the works featured in this album offer a generous overview of Alfano’s vocal output, from his Opus 1 Cinq mélodies, written in 1896 when he was a twenty-one-year-old student at Leipzig, to Due liriche per canto, violoncello e pianoforte from 1949, five years before his death.

Anna Pirozzi has established herself as the leading Italian dramatic soprano of today, performing on the most prestigious international opera stages. She is joined here by the acclaimed pianist Emma Abbate and renowned cellist Bozidar Vukotic.

Album Booklet (PDF)


From Sei liriche
1. Perché piangi? *
2. Al chiarore della mattina *
3. Malinconia *
4. Non partire, amor mio

5. È giunto il nostro ultimo autunno *

Cinq mélodies, Op.1 *
6. Sonnet
7. Pourquoi!
8. Rondeau
9. Envoi à ***
10. Sonnet

Due liriche per canto, violoncello e pianoforte *
11. Preludio primaverile
12. Il giorno non è più...

13. Giorno per giorno (arietta per violoncello e pianoforte) *

Tre nuovi poemi
14. Ninna nanna di mezzanotte
15. Melodia
16. Preghiera alla Madonna *

* World premiere recording


© 2023 Resonus Limited
Ⓟ 2023 Resonus Limited
Catalogue No. RES10330
Producer, engineer & editor: Adam Binks
EAN: 5060262793589
Release date: 10 November 2023