Huw Watkins: Chamber Music and Works for String Orchestra | Leonore Piano Trio, Benjamin Nabarro (violin), Rachel Roberts (viola), Orchestra Nova, George Vass (conductor) | Resonus Classics | RES10338

Huw Watkins: Chamber Music & Works for String Orchestra

Regular price £12.99
Total playing time [71:27]

Leonore Piano Trio
Benjamin Nabarro (solo violin)
Rachel Roberts (viola)
Orchestra Nova
George Vass (conductor)

Widely recognised as the leading Welsh composer of his generation, Huw Watkins is an increasingly prolific writer of works for chamber ensembles, alongside his distinguished career as a pianist. Composed between 2009 and 2022, the five works featured on this disc take the listener on a fascinating journey through Watkins’s recent musical evolution. The acclaimed Leonore Piano Trio begin with the earliest of these works – the 2009 Piano Trio No. 1 – whilst conductor George Vass’s Orchestra Nova brings us the Little Symphony for strings and exquisite Concertino for violin and strings, performed here by trio violinist Benjamin Nabarro.

The trio is joined by violist Rachel Roberts for Watkins’ luminous Piano Quartet, while the programme concludes with the 2022 Piano Trio No. 2 – written for the fortieth anniversary of the Presteigne Festival and premiered there by the Leonore Piano Trio.

Album Booklet (PDF)


Piano Trio No. 1 (2009)
1. Allegro
2. Lento
3. Allegro molto

4. Little Symphony for string orchestra (2013)

5. Piano Quartet (2012)

6. Concertino (2011)

7. Piano Trio No. 2 (2022)

'[...] Watkins never completely ditches tradition, and his material and textures remain fresh and ingenious whatever the instrumental forces. I’d single out for special praise the pungent account of his Little Symphony (Orchestra Nova conducted by George Vass) and the coruscating Piano Trio No 1 (Leonore Piano Trio). But every track brings satisfaction.'

- The Times

'The way the performers capture the very essence of Watkins' world is surely the most impressive aspect'
Classical Explorer

© 2024 Resonus Limited
Ⓟ 2024 Resonus Limited
Catalogue No. RES10338
Producer, engineer & editor: Adam Binks
EAN: 5060262793640
Release date: 26 April 2024