J.S. Bach: Orgelbüchlein, BWV 599–644 - RES10259

J.S. Bach: Orgelbüchlein, BWV 599–644

Regular price £12.99
Total playing time [79:02]

Listen on Apple Music    Listen on Spotify
Stephen Farr (organ)
Trost Organ, Stadtkirche, Waltershausen

Organist Stephen Farr continues his survey of works by Johann Sebastian Bach with one of the composer’s major collections of organ chorale preludes – the Orgelbüchlein.

This unfinished compendium of miniatures, said by Mendelssohn to bear ‘most evidently the marks of his genius’, contains much variety with each of the forty-six completed works containing a well-defined and individual character.

For this recording, Farr performs on the eighteenth-century Trost organ of Waltershausen’s stunning Stadtkirche in the Thuringian region of Germany.

Album Booklet (PDF)


1. Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 599
2. Gott, durch deine Güte oder Gottes Sohn ist kommen, BWV 600
3. Herr Christ, der ein’ge Gottes Sohn oder Herr Gott, nun sei gepreiset, BWV 601
4. Lob sei dem allmächtigen Gott, BWV 602
5. Puer natus in Bethlehem, BWV 603
6. Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ, BWV 604
7. Der Tag der ist so freudenreich, BWV 605
8. Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich her, BWV 606
9. Vom Himmel kam der Engel Schar, BWV 607
10. In dulci jubilo, BWV 608
11. Lobt Gott, ihr Christen, allzugleich, BWV 609
12. Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 610
13. Christum wir sollen loben schon, BWV 611
14. Wir Christenleut [habn jetzund Freud], BWV 612
15. Helft mir Gotts Güte preisen, BWV 613
16. Das alte Jahr vergangen ist, BWV 614
17. In dir ist Freude, BWV 615
18. Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin, BWV 616
19. Herr Gott, nun schleuß den Himmel auf, BWV 617
20. O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig, BWV 618
21. Christe, du Lamm Gottes, BWV 619
22. Christus, der uns selig macht, BWV 620
23. Da Jesus an dem Kreuze stund, BWV 621
24. O Mensch, bewein dein Sünde groß, BWV 622
25. Wir danken dir, Herr Jesu Christ, daß du für uns gestorben bist, BWV 623
26. Holf Gott, daß mir’s gelinge, BWV 624
27. Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 625
28. Jesus Christus, unser Heiland [der den Tod] BWV 626
29. Christ ist erstanden, BWV 627
30. Erstanden ist der heilge Christ, BWV 628
31. Erschienen ist der herrliche Tag, BWV 629
32. Heut triumphieret Gottes Sohn, BWV 630
33. Komm, Gott Schöpfer, heiliger Geist, BWV 631
34. Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend, BWV 632
35. Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier, BWV 634
36. Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier, BWV 633
37. Dies sind die heilgen zehn Gebot, BWV 635
38. Vater unser im Himmelreich, BWV 636
39. Durch Adams Fall ist ganz verderbt, BWV 637
40. Es ist das Heil uns kommen her, BWV 638
41. Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639
42. In dich hab ich gehoffet, Herr, BWV 640
43. Wenn wir in höchsten Nöten sein, BWV 641
44. Wer nur den lieben Gott läßt walten, BWV 642
45. Alle Menschen müssen sterben, BWV 643
46. Ach wie nichtig, ach wie flüchtig, BWV 644

'[...] Farr is a serious, musicianly organist with an imagination for colour that ensures each of these gems gets its due [...] In short, here is the full spirit of Bach, both the musician and the man of faith'

- BBC Music Magazine (5 stars)

'[...] Farr is a serious, musicianly organist with an imagination for colour that ensures each of these gems gets its due [...] In short, here is the full spirit of Bach, both the musician and the man of faith'
BBC Music Magazine (5 stars, performance and recording)

'[...] eighteenth-century organs are challenging to play, with noisy actions, un-ergonomic pedalboards, etc., but Farr’s tempi sound natural, with expressive nuances well-moulded into the overall metrical structure.'
Choir & Organ (5 stars, Star Review)

'It’s remarkable how much Bach can pack into the tiniest piece….Farr performs with immaculate poise'
The Sunday Times

'As always with Stephen Farr’s recordings, this is model of how to do it'
Early Music Review

'[...] these sublime chorale settings make for a beautiful programme in their own right. As performed on this organ in Stephen Farr’s continuing project to record the organ works of Bach they make for delightful listening'
Lark Reviews

'Stephen Farr’s playing is commendably sensitive and devoid of the mannerisms that making repeated listening tricky'
Andrew Benson-Wilson (andrewbensonwilson.org)

© 2020 Resonus Limited
Ⓟ 2020 Resonus Limited
Catalogue No. RES10259
Producer, engineer & editor: Adam Binks
EAN: 5060262792315 (CD) | 5060262322 (Digital)
Cover image: Organ detail © Resonus Limited
Release date: 3 April 2020