Johann Ludwig Krebs: Keyboard Works, Volume 3 - Steven Devine (harpsichord) - Resonus Classics - RES10329

Johann Ludwig Krebs: Keyboard Works, Volume 3

Regular price £12.99
Total playing time [77:30]

Steven Devine (harpsichord)

Keyboardist Steven Devine continues this complete survey of Johann Ludwig Krebs’ significant contribution to the keyboard genre with the third volume in this series dedicated to the composer’s keyboard works.

Featuring one of the three surviving Partitas from a presumed set of six, this album also includes the world premiere recording of Krebs’ Six Keyboard Sonatas (Krebs-WV 832-837), that only came to light during the historic restoration of the archive of the Sing- Akademie to Berlin following its removal to Ukraine during the war in 1943.

With a compositional style that points to a period later in Krebs’s life, these charming, witty and sometimes quirky works clearly demonstrate the composer’s confident yet straightforward charm.

Album Booklet (PDF)


Partita VI in E-flat major, Krebs-WV 827a
1. Präludium
2. Fuga
3. Allemande
4. Courante
5. Sarabande
6. Gavotte
7. Polonoise
8. Scherzo
9. Menuet
10. Gigue

Sonata I in C major, Krebs-WV 832 *
11. Allegro
12. Andante
13. Allegretto

Sonata II in G major, Krebs-WV 833 *
14. Allegro
15. Andante
16. Allegretto

Sonata III in B-flat major, Krebs-WV 834 *
17. Vivace
18. Andante
19. Vivace

Sonata IV in D major, Krebs-WV 835 *
20. Allegro
21. Allegretto
22. Presto

Sonata V in F major, Krebs-WV 836 *
23. Allegro
24. Andante
25. Allegro

Sonata VI in D minor, Krebs-WV 837 *
26. Allegro non troppo
27. Andante
28. Allegro


© 2024 Resonus Limited
Ⓟ 2024 Resonus Limited
Catalogue No. RES10329
Producer, engineer & editor: Adam Binks
EAN: 5060262793671
Release date: 12 January 2024