Poldowski Reimagined

Poldowski Reimagined

Regular price £12.99
Total playing time [54:05]

Listen on Apple Music    Listen on Spotify
Ensemble 1904
David Jackson (piano, arrangements & director)
Angelique Charlopain (violin)
Jeremie Decottignies (double bass)
Jazmin Black-Grollemund (soprano)

Largely neglected following her death, the music of Poldowski – alias of Irène Régine Wieniawska – is brought back to life in this re-imagining by David Jackson, director of the Paris-based chamber group Ensemble 1904.

Featuring twenty-two settings of poems by the nineteenth-century French poet Paul Verlaine, the ensemble makes its recording debut with this alluring and compelling programme of song. Poldowski’s complete Verlaine settings are united for the first time in vivid arrangements by David Jackson inspired by the composer herself, known to have made chamber versions of her own songs. Included is the world premiere of the recently rediscovered Nous Deux.

Album Booklet (PDF)


1. L’heure exquise
2. Impression fausse
3. Le faune
4. Circonspection
5. Fantoches
6. En sourdine
7. Brume
8. L’attente
9. Bruxelles
10. Dimanches d’avril
11. Dansons la gigue !
12. Andante Languido
(extrait de la Sonate pour Violon et Piano)
13. Colombine
14. Crépuscule du soir mystique
15. Cortège
16. Cythère
17. Mandoline
18. Effet de neige
19. Sur l’herbe
20. À Clymène
21. A poor young Shepherd
22. Spleen
23. Nous Deux
(Donc, ce sera par un clair jour d’été)

'This beguiling recording'

- The Times

'[...] the arrangements are salon-like, atmospheric and sympathetically performed, expanding the scale of the music - which 'is great-hearted enough to take it. [...] More please!'
BBC Music Magazine

'[Jackson] weaves a sheath of chamber music (violin, piano and double bass) around the velvety soprano voice of Jazmin Black-Grollemund. The result is surprising but also often enchanting to the ear'

'This beguiling recording'
The Times

© 2017 Resonus Limited
Ⓟ 2017 Resonus Limited
Catalogue No. RES10196
Producer & editor: Adam Binks
Engineer: Thomas Vingtrinier
EAN: 5060262791011
Cover image: Nina Virus (www.ninavirus.com)